Building JS-7 copy

RGGR

When you have an itch it's mostly best to scratch it.

Over the last months I have been reading all the good info on projectguitar.com (and other sites) and finally I have given in and started building my own guitar.

Ieeeeks!!

I just started playing last year and playing my Ibanez RG2550EX GK just makes me a happy camper. (still learning to play though)

Most of my friends who play guitars all have pretty nice collection of them. I guess ONE of these babies is never enough....

Big question was....what to buy/build next to my RG. I looked at Fender '59 copy (warmoth neck, USA Custom Guitar body, Fralin pick-ups), I looked at older RG 550 and replacing body with JEM style body......I looked at buying JS-100 and chroming it, JS-1000, RG1527, RG7620.....

Till it finally hit me. I really like the JS style body (sexy looking body). I also would like to have a 7 string. Just for the fun of it, and as I just started playing it will just add to the confusion. ;-) Knowing Ibanez is in process of releasing their JS-7 (not making good progress though), I thought it would be cool beating them to it.

I think Ibanez makes nice guitars, and the finish of my RG Prestige is awesome, still I think it's possible to do better (choice of wood for body/neck, etc.)

The shopping list:

Body - 2pc. Korina (Limba) wood - from what I understand this is one of the best sounding woods available. For more on Korina (limba) check:

http://www.higginshardwoods.com/products.p...hardwoods/limba

Local woodsupply company luckily had small supply of this available. I pickup Radius 540R Autocad designs floating around on this site, as template. Adjusted designs by changing old style neck joint into AANJ style.