Cud's Project Guitar

• Replies 289
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Nice, I lke the sides it reminds me of the rounded sides on the Carvins, I'm trying to outgrow them and do somenthing inbetween. Like rounded and stylysh at the same time, any updates on the body, I realy like the way it's turning, keep us posted, just bump this thread whenever yo post updates to your site!

GuitarMaestro, I am a newbie! :D I wanted to make my own fretboard because I wanted to learn every aspect of the prospect and I did.

Maiden69, I was influenced by my new Carvin 727 when I did that round over. So, good eye!

Dave

I love Carvin's, If I ever buy a new guitar it will have to be one of thems, and the 727 is awsome, I haven't played a 7string yet othe that a cheap Jackson, and thyat was pourly set up, but theres somenthing about the 727 that catch your eye, it looks so comfortable! I will be calling them coming next tax refund to see if they can make one without the rounded body sides (it's standard on this model), I use to love them but I'm falling for the regular one after playing a frien DC200.

I think I may have a problem with my neck pocket. I'm afraid I didn't leave enough wood on the treble side of the neck and therefore, the neck well protrude from the body more than I like.

So, I've decided to finish my neck and see where it lines up. If it doesn't work, I'm going to cut a section out of the center of the body and replace it with a new "center" made of a Walnut, Quilted Maple, Walnut sandwich that will allow me to "re-do" the neck pocket area of the body.

Any opinions?

Thanks.

Dave

xebryus, I'll take that as a huge compliment! I'm an IT Manager by trade. I've been a hobbyist woodworker for about 3 years now but this is my first guitar. I'm aided in no small part by the good tools I have. I try and do as much reading as I can about building guitars. Obviously, there's a ton of info on the internet and I'm learning as I go.

Thanks for looking!