Help! Need To Overcome Severe Stage Fright!

StreamLine

hi guys... I've finally decided to take part in my school's interhouse music competition... i'm playing the solo piece for my house.

that is to say I've decided to play the above mentioned piece in front of about 400+ people, basically everyone I know.

I've been practicing this piece for the last 2 years. Technically I've nailed it.

BUT

I've NEVER ever performed anywhere. Not even in front of 20 people.

so..... How should I overcome stage fright??!! how can i avoid becoming so nervous that i forget the notes etc!!

i'll be extremely grateful for any advice... there are still 2 weeks left before the competition, so if i need to learn to do anything there's still a bit of time!

so... please help out!! :D

Roman

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You can never really loose stage fright. When im playing live i tend to get really psyked up befor, and force my self on to the stage, 9/10 im comfortable straight away and can play. But as you've never played infront of an auidiance befor, i sugest you play infront of a few people, 20-30, if you can do that youl be fine. Also if your on a stage with lights on you, you wont be able to see much of anything beond the stage anyway.

Just remember to have fun with it.

And if it helps any, im playing aces high in the talent show at my school in 3 weeks, i have to learn the first solo befor that too.

Experience is the only way to do it, really. Start off by playing for family or a small circle of close friends, then build from there. When you're on a big stage, though, make sure you DO NOT look out into the audience (especially if it's a daytime show or in a well-lit room)... that'll freak you out.

I used to get quite nervous before going onstage, but now i really enjoy it.

Stage fright boils down to two things: a fear of failure, and a fear of having people see that failure. Be free of both of them, and it can't harm you.