soldering iron/gun suggestions

gcr108

I am probably only going to put pickups into a few guitars, anyone have any suggestions on what kind of tool I should get and what material/solder I should use?

I have some limited experience with a soldering gun, but really have no clue as to what I would need to use for this job.

I am putting in 2 humbuckers with 2 vol, 2 tone and 3way into a hollow body Univox Effie because one of the originals is trashed...

Thanks for any help...

get one that is at least 30 watts.

let it warm up all the way before using it.

when you are wiring let the gun reheat after every few joints you solder because the heat dissipates into the stuff you are soldering and the iron has to be really hot before you do the grounds to the volume pot.

and be sure to tin your pots before you solder to them.

oh and be careful not to burn up your wiring,pots,or fingers.(i have burns on my fingers as you read this.)

one last thing.be very careful where you leave your iron sitting.they have a habit of burning anything they touch

Make sure you use rosin core solder NOT acid core! The acid will slowly attack every thing around it and your wiring will break down after a while. Acid is used for plumbing I believe and should not go anywhere near electronics.

Get an Antex iron if you don't want to get the more expensive transformer based irons. I bought an antex 25 years ago, after wasting money on several cheap irons which only lasted a week, and it's still working perfectly with its original tip!

Keith

• 3 weeks later...

I was told never to use a soldering 'gun'...trigger type, looks like a gun. I have one and used it for years as my soldering tool. BUT, there is a transformer built into the gun that can 'degauss' the magnets in your pickups. So, use a soldering 'iron' around your guitar. I used my neighbors one for my guitars...finally broke down and spent my 10 bucks at Radio Shack. :D Good luck.