A Les Paul Supreme Style For My Son

A couple of months ago, I completed an SG style guitar for my middle son. SG topic

The SG was my third guitar to start but the second to finish. The second one I started was an LP style for my oldest son. Being a newb, I had no idea how far over my head I was for my knowledge and skill level. :D

Anyway, I got into trouble at multiple places e.g. technique, sequencing, etc. Added is that I don't know what a LP is supposed to look and feel like. I mean, I have a general idea and a detailed plan from StewMac, but I have only held a LP a couple of times and I'm not a player. So, I put it away and after a while I started and completed the SG. It came out ok. With that, I got back to the LP. However, as per this post's description, it remains to be seen if it will be a guitar or attractive firewood. :D

The objective is a guitar in the style of a LP Supreme - maple top and back over a mahogany center, mahogany set neck, ebony fretboard, gold MOP split block inlay, custom gold MOP inlay on the head, 7 layer binding on the top, 5 layer on the back, 3 layer mitered binding on the head and single ply on the neck. Oh, the aspirations of ignorance.....

Anyway, here are pics of the target guitar from Gibson and my status as of yesterday. I'm trying to use thumbnails but I'm not sure I'm doing it correctly.

th_lpsupreme.jpg Gibson LP Supreme Amber

th_July15.jpg My version's progress July 15

As you can see, I've made progress but there are many problems and obstacles to overcome. I'll address those as this post progresses. Some I've tackled but some remain, so I may need some advice as I go.

Anyway, it all started with a trip to my local wood supplier. They had some really nice straight-grained mahogany for bodies and necks. I found a plank of 6/4 curly maple and got them to resaw it for me. I got two planks of 9/16" bookmatched from that - enough for the top and back. Pics below.

th_wood1.jpg mahogany for necks and bodies