Wood Selections

I have decided on my project for this year, an Acoustic! i felt like a challenge and so i bought Kinkeads book and decided it would be great fun to build my own acoustic. It will be based on the plans in the back of Kinkeads book.

So, being an acoustic newbie, I need someone to give me a hand with wood selection, mostly i need to know what sounds good and what works with which top etc...

Here are my choices from ALS

Back and Sides:

Australian Black Acacia Sets

Indian Rosewood Acoustic Sets

New Guinea Rosewood (Narra) Sets

Queenland Walnut Acoustic Sets

Queensland Maple Acoustic Sets

African Mahogany Acoustic Sets

Sound Board:

European Spruce Tops

Sitka Spruce Tops

Western Red Cedar Tops

Australian Bunya Pine Tops

Australian Kauri Pine Tops

Some of this woods are cheap, some are not.

I personally like the look of the Queensland Walnut and the Indian Rosewood, nice and strain grain, minimal or no flame and it's fairly cheap (which is good, seeing as it's my first acoustic)

The rest of timber i will be using:

-African Mahogany or Queensland Maple neck.

-Indian Rosewood fretboard and bridge

I hope to purchase my timber in the next few weeks, so i can get started on something (my weekends are getting boring with nothing to do :D)

RGMAN.

Edited by RGman

I'm currently building my first acoustic (almost done) so take this with a grain of salt.

My guitar is Indian rosewood back/sides, sitka spruce top, and mahogany neck. From doing my research I found that rosewood is one of the easiest woods to bend and sounds great, and sitka has great strength and sounds great. So far my guitar is turning out good considering I'm a noobie.

But wait until some of the more experienced acoustic builders chime in (fryovanni, mattia, myka etc etc)

One thing I do know is you made a good choice with the rosewood bridge. One thing everyone brought to my attention when I was planning my build was how much heavier an ebony bridge is vs a rosewood bridge.