Handplanes

I know nothing about plane prices, but I'm going to go out on a limb. It's like most markets. If a brand or person has a excellent reputation for making something, their products can get quite pricey. In addition, products from boutique makers tend to be expensive by nature.

CMA

Edited by CrazyManAndy

Well, as far as what makes it "worth it", I couldn't say. I'm not an expert on planes. And different people have different reasons for something being "worth it". The reason may have nothing to do with practical advantage. Who knows. Some folks have money, and like to spend it.

Maybe someone with more knowledge of planes could jump in here.

CMA

Why are many very well made acoustic guitars around $1000(give or take), and at the same time Jeffrey Elliot acoustics start at $13,000 with a fifteen year waiting list (not accepting deposits for new commisions). It comes down to the maker, and the makers reputation. Worth thinking about if you want to make a living selling hand crafted items, a reputation for quality carries a lot of value to the right market.

I can't justify that kind of money for a plane, but if you have a certain level of income and do not need to accept anything other than just what you want to use(money is no object). They look like nifty planes, no compramise in quality.

Peace,Rich

You should check out this guys web site. Hotley planes The planes with the steel bottoms dovetailed to the brass sides are very cool looking!

I agree the prices are high, and I could never justify such a tool, but for hand made quality like that I don't think the price is out of line. Precision metal work like that takes time.

A CNC machine in china could make millions in the same time, to the same quality for a fraction of the price

your just paying for this hype over the 'hand built quality' as if hes poured his life and soul into it and all that.

(I'm no doubter of hand built guitar but $15k plane? Are you serious???)