Making "new" Guitar

diggidy

OK, so I started playing guitar around 3 years ago, and my first guitar was a Mexican made strat, with this very cool looking flat navy blue finish. I learned to play on it, and is now my favorite guitar. I have now bought a Gibson SG, and a Marshall MG100DFX for my setup. After playing each for awhile, I decided I don't really like either much and am thinking about selling both. I am about to begin building a guitar with my father, who is an engineer. And also buying a traynor 50blue amp if I can get the money.

Since this strat has become my favorite guitar, but still doesn't have the greatest "components" on it. I am looking to buy a new pickguard, new knobs, a new back plate, maybe some of those string saver saddles, pickups, and that's really all I can think of. I'm trying to make the guitar a lot better, so I almost feels like a whole new guitar.

I was wondering however, where you would recommend getting all these things, (pickguards and knobs and stuff) for a good price.

Lastly, I really need help on buying pickups. I play lots of blues, classic rock, and some heavy metal music. I don't really know where to buy them, or what kind to get.

sorry for such a long post, and thanks for all the help you can give.

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I personally prefer low impedence 'vintage' sounding single coil pickups. You know, the ones that sound very clean and chimey. And, I prefer them over any humbucking pickup that I've heard yet. Sound engineers will tell you that you can cut frequencies out, but you can't add back what ain't there in the first place. The low impedence single coils with magnet pole pieces simply have the widest frequency response of any passive pickups. Also, by rewiring your axe to get some series combinations, you can get a much fatter and hotter sound. To me, a vintage sounding strat with all the good combinations comes the closest to being an 'everything axe'.