Writing/recording On The Go

Buter

I spend a fair bit of time in hotels and I need something for recording/composing. I've always got my computer with me so surely there's a good program with some sort of interface for the guitar to plug into.

What I've been doing up until now is coming up with a riff or a progression and then typing it into guitar pro. Because the sounds you get are so limited with that, trying to improvise or come up with lead lines can be a pain.

I'm not a pro and I don't want to spend the earth, here; just wanna have a bit of a play, really.

Hopefully some of you more tech saavy fellas can offer up some options.

Cheers

Buter

If you want a small and portable device, that you can just plug your guitar into and record stuff... I'm afraid to say it, but I gotta recommend the Line 6 Pod Studio's. Probably the GX model if you just want guitar and no vocals. The advantages are that you can get a decent number of amps and sounds to play around with, the disadvantages is that none of them are amazing (and you may be ridiculed by professionals, who generally look down on most things Line6).

For demo'ing, I'd say its worth it.

Well, at the moment I play through a pocket pod and headphones when I'm away so there's no snobbery issue there :D

I don't need vocals (I'm actually banned from singing in the European union and most of Asia), but I would want to be able to lay down a rythm track and a lead track as well as having some sort of drum track.

B

Yeah, in that case I'd recommend the Pod Studio. Plug your guitar in one end, PC in the other, and some headphones, and its good to go. As for software, you run the Pod Farm program on your computer and use that to change the amp/effects, then use another program to record - Audacity is a good free one.