Les Paul Style Build

I started working on this in February. I knew I wanted to build a les paul shape, but as far as colors and hardware go, I'm stumped. There's lots of things I want to do: maple top, chambered body, carved top, recessed controls, binding, natural binding, natural control plates, etc. Can't do em' all.

But here's what I got for specs so far:

Black Limba body

Black Limba neck (quartersawn, reinforced with carbon fiber rods)

I have bloodwood that I can use as a fretboard, but I'm not too sure how I feel about it.

I also have some bookmatched flamed maple that I can use as a top, but I don't know how i feel about it. I'm a metal guitarist, and I'd like this guitar to have a sort of darker personality to it. I'm just having a hard time giving it that with the materials given. I do like black Limba for the weight and sound. It has a pretty neat grain to it as well, so I'm not sure if i want to paint it. I could just go ahead and carve it up, not put a top on it or anything and have it with a natural finish... but I'm not sure.

All I know for sure is that I want the les paul shape, and the entire guitar is going to be made from the same plank of wood. Here's where I'm at

P3070232.jpg

Blank

P3100236.jpg

body cut & glued

FILE0457.jpg

The line is a pencle line, not a glue line. The glue line is invisible!

Oh, and please excuse the junk. We were in the process of moving in when these pics were taken!

Any ideas for the build are completely welcome and encouraged! I'm not too terribly interested in the top. I am very interested in the back and sides though! I'll update with some pictures of that once I have the basic outline shape sanded out.

Edited by Narcissism

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Having owned a Gibson version and made one of my own with some modifications, I'll give this advice: smooth out the neck heel. That's my least favorite part of the Les Paul, too clunky.