Amp Head Suggestions

Reinhold

Now that I've upgraded my strat and have my first build underway, I think it's time to start thinking about a new amp to replace my crappy solid-state combo. I'm looking for a versatile amp that could handle clean, jazzy-type tones, yet have enough gain on tap to play even the heaviest metal, yet don't want to spend the ridiculous prices associated with these amps. Does anyone out there know of an amp that fits this description. I know that I can get Marshalls pretty cheap, so anyone have any suggestions on which I should go for? Or are there any other smaller brands that could get me great, but similar tones for less? I'm not really familiar with the latest amps as I'm just starting out and hope someone here has been around the block a couple times and can push me in the right direction. Thanks.

I could possibly get shot down for this but try a bugera valve head. I think they sell them in the states..Im from Australia and i got mine for $900. Its really nice on the cleans, has a mild distortion channel and then a lead for full blown metal. I play loads of metal through it and can tell you that u wont be disappointed!

Check out the blackstar HT line. They are super versatile and inexpensive. There are 5, 20, 40, 60, and 100 watt versions available. They have great cleans and the distortion is insane. they also have this cool little ISF feature that changes the voicing of the amp from british to american. You can blend the two for a pretty cool variety of tones.

I highly reccomend two amps...the Peavey JSX and the Engl Powerball...both have great tone and are very versatile,but the Engl is more expensive..yet it is slightly more transparent...

in the $1000 or so pricerange,nothing rocks as hard as the JSX...bang for the buck,baby!

I highly reccomend two amps...the Peavey JSX and the Engl Powerball...both have great tone and are very versatile,but the Engl is more expensive..yet it is slightly more transparent...