Commission Pricing...

My uncle has taken an interest in my building and asked about hiring me to build him a custom. Obviously for family Im gonna hook him up when he finally does place his order, but the future is looking bright as far as commission prospects are concerned, so I wanted to know what is a good price point for a custom job. Mainly labor charges, I can figure out cost. Keep in mind that Im still pretty new to this, but I feel like I have a pretty good feel for what im doing since Im experiencing building many types of guitars with many different components and finishes, and im very meticulous about my work. For the most part I dont plan on having access to a CNC, at least for a good while after I finish school, so pretty much everything will be hand built. . I feel like it would be beneficial to offer a "product line", with a few body types and woods to chose from, then let the customer decide on the rest. I guess every "business" needs its own buisness model and I really should come up with my own if I plan to seriously build guitars to sell. Sounds like a perfect opportunity to further develop this Harmonic Core concept if it turns out to be a hit. Its probably too soon to really be asking these questions, but once I get a thought in my head it doesnt go away until I voice it (or post it :D ). And no, I dont plan on doing this full-time. I just want to use it as a vehicle to practice my new found hobby!

Well, as with anything else, it's a balance between what you think your time is worth and what someone else thinks your WORK is worth.

In my mind, ~$1500 would be the abject minimum for a hand-built, simple solidbody guitar. But that was just from my own calculations a few years ago--I don't remember the breakdown.