Another Rusty One

What finish?  

30 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

I'm mainly starting this because I'm facing a dilemma. I'm trying to finish this quickly, but I don't know what to do.

My plan was to make this finish look similar to this:

DSCF5459.jpg

I began the rusting process and I like how it's turning out without the paint. I have a guy interested in buying it and he likes it too. I've never tried this kind of "finish" before (with the paint, that is; I've done the rust before) and since I like it how it is, I don't know if I want to risk it. If I leave it rust only, the hardware will black iron with light rust, so it'll match, but not be monotone looking.

Here's how it looks right now:

44354_431568655137_183692040137_4815560_1833728_n.jpg

44354_431568650137_183692040137_4815559_1058871_n.jpg

46130_431568270137_183692040137_4815521_2916846_n.jpg

44354_431568645137_183692040137_4815558_5514640_n.jpg

I did the body before glueing the neck for a few reasons due to the unusual finish. I don't want to get into that right now. I'm really just wanting some opinions on my dilemma.

Thanks in advance.

I've used wax when doing multiple layers of paint on furniture. If you built up large sections of wax and paint over it, you can sand it down once it's dry. Or peel it back. Or use a heat gun. Whatever floats your boat.

There's a lot more texture to the sample than the guitar. I am interested to see how it would look in the flat areas.

That's for the input everyone. I've made up my mind... I'm sort of doing both :D