My First Seven String Build

3DogNate

Hi, better introduce myself since this is my first post here...

My name is Nathan Noel... Ive been building guitars for several years now. This particular build contains a lot of firsts for me. My first PRS style set neck... my first carved top... First time using stainless frets... My first time using Target EM-6000 for a finish... and my first bound electric.

Here's the specs...

Body: 2pc Basswood Back with book matched spalted flame maple carved top.

Neck: 3pc maple/sapele/maple, maple Fingerboard

Scale: 25.5"

Frets: 24 Stainless Steel

Pickups: Carvin

Bridge: Gotoh

Tuners: Gotoh

Nut: Bone

Here's a collection of pics I didn't really start taking them until a ways into the build.

CIMG0080.jpg

CIMG0092.jpg

CIMG0083.jpg

CIMG0091.jpg

CIMG0093.jpg

CIMG0094.jpg

CIMG0101.jpg

Headstock.jpg

Edited by 3DogNate

I was able to get the clear coats on over the course of a week and after letting it cure out for a week I got it all buffed out and awaiting hardware and electronics this past Saturday... I'm really pleased with how the EM-6000 turned out... nice and shiny!

CIMG0126.jpg

CIMG0127.jpg

CIMG0128.jpg

CIMG0129.jpg

CIMG0131.jpg

CIMG0132.jpg

Edited by 3DogNate

The finish looks really clean, it turned out really nice. I do wish the figure stood out more though.

Yeah, I did some test panels from the off cuts from the top.... I tried popping the curl with black and with tobacco brown and sand it back before adding the red. And the spalt just took too much dye. and looked really 2D. I think I made the right call... the curl is a bit more pronounced in person than in the photos because it does shift visually when viewed at different angles.

I'm happy... now if my bridge would ever get here off of back order.... :D

What tools did you use for the carve?

Nice work, really good looking guitar.

Bill