Real Gold Top Les Paul

I’m a hobbyist working now with my third guitar. You can check out photos of my previous projects, The Sun and The Moon.

My on-going project is a Les Paul with real gold top, so I will finally apply gold leaf onto the top. Other features include a vine theme inlay, a modified/contoured body shape for better playability and quite a bit of binding.

I’ve been working with this for two months now in the evenings. Should be finished in May, so please be patient with updates.

Here’s a Kisekae-simulation. I think I’ve made up my mind with the not-so-common hardware choices but I’m open for suggestions.

design.jpg

Learning the guilding technique

guilding.jpg

• 3 months later...

After weeks of radio silence I'm updating the build thread the real Gold Top. Here are some pics of the neck being put together, shaping the neck, fretting and working on the headstock.

gluingneckandfretboard.jpg

neckinshape.jpg

neckreadywithinlay.jpg

fretting.jpg

headstockwithhardware.jpg

I recently made a truss rod cover from brass by etching the custom graphics. For details see tutorial. The guitar is named "Aurum", gold in latin.

headstockwithtrussrodcover.jpg

Edited by MexicanBreed
  • Like 1

This is what I've been waiting for. I finally got into guilding. After finishing the top with several coats of polyurethane and sanding it smooth I applied the mixtion - the substance used to attach the gold leaf. After 30min of drying, the gold is moved from the booklet of leaves on the surface using a brush made of squirrel hair. Very delicate business.

guilding.jpg

guilded.jpg

bindingwithgold.jpg

It reminds me a guitar called Regvlvs, of guitarrist Sergio dias from The Mutants, a classic brasilian acid rock band.

I´m not a big fan of Mutants, guess that Sergio isn´t a great musician like all people do here in Bras(z)il thinking, but your guitar is a mith.