Need Help Getting Started

420Floydman

Hi, first time here. I'm having a little trouble getting started.

I've been playing guitar for about 3 years. Off and on, you know. I'll pick it up and strum around on it, nothing serious. I finally moved up to getting an Epiphone LP. I have very fast and limber fingers, I know how to strum and sweep and palm mute and all that type of stuff. I have equipment that will suffice. I have learned a good little bit of solos and riffs and such, about 20 different songs, including the STH solo, Iron Man solo, One intro solo, and can play them to speed and accuracy.

However, I've never actually taken the time to try to learn the real music to it. Things like scales and octaves and more chords. I've just gotten by with looking at tabs and when I make up my own stuff, just play random crap really.

I don't know what to start with first.

So, could anyone point me in the right direction, I'd like to actually learn guitar, not just play by tabs.

Edited by 420Floydman

I've been playing guitar for about 3 years. Off and on, you know. I'll pick it up and strum around on it, nothing serious. I finally moved up to getting an Epiphone LP. I have very fast and limber fingers, I know how to strum and sweep and palm mute and all that type of stuff. I have equipment that will suffice. I have learned a good little bit of solos and riffs and such, about 20 different songs, including the STH solo, Iron Man solo, One intro solo, and can play them to speed and accuracy.

However, I've never actually taken the time to try to learn the real music to it. Things like scales and octaves and more chords. I've just gotten by with looking at tabs and when I make up my own stuff, just play random crap really.

So, could anyone point me in the right direction, I'd like to actually learn guitar, not just play by tabs.

Looks liek you could use a teacher. Talk to a few about what you want and go from there.

• 1 month later...