First Day

Nick R.

Hi all, I'm brand new to the world of music and would like to learn to play the guitar just for fun and my pleasure,well I bought a book and a really cheeeep guitar, well page one says the 14 fret should be at the top of guitar body but el cheapo has the strings at the 12 fret my question: what kind of guitar do I have and can I tune it like a 14 fret (reason for el cheeeepo is I'm not sure I will continue, hope I do) thanks Nick R.

First welcome

Second i and I think most here will say go ahead and get a decent guitar you don't have to spend a grand on a beginer but get something that's worth playing cheap guitars Will turn you off playing.

As far as 12 vs 14 fret access you will be fine for learning basic chords and scales.

Hi Tim37, My plan is to build a reasonably decent guitar with some good hardwood and expect that to almost break the bank, being semiretired funds are tight, previously I built strip built kayaks, have 2 now and run out of room so guitar building seems good. The reason for the cheepies is to see how they are constructed when my project is finished give the cheepo to some one.Thanks for the reply ,very best Nick R.

Welcome to the world of guitar, Nick. Truthfully, a neck joining the body at the 12th fret as opposed to the 14th fret is no better or worse - it's just a different build strategy. As a beginner, it shouldn't matter either way, as most of your time will be spent on the first five frets anyway (if you're like most people).

Are you wanting to build an acoustic or electric?

Hi all, I'm hoping to build a steel string acoustic I have some Sapele, western red cedar and a plank of ash. I'm thinking of using the sapele for the back and neck and the western red cedar for the top and sides. Please advise if I'm wrong (usually are) Thanks Nick R.

• 3 months later...