Hollow Flying V

so i've been building electric guitars for 4 years now and want to make an acoustic flying v

i want to put a bolt on neck and know this is possible because i've tried some at guitar center

how thick should the side pieces be?

i would have a back piece, 4 sides, and a block to put the neck in...i have a neck already made from last year...i even scalloped it...

so how does the block go in? would the guitar be weak? help please

It probably wouldn't sound that good at all. The thing with wierd shapped acoustics is that they have less air volume so they sound weak, quiet, and have little tone usually. Why are you going to do a bolt on instead of a dovetail?

The sides would have to get glued to the block. If you are making it with small cut aways like most electric V's it will be easier, if you aren't then you will have to glue braces or kerfing to the side of the block that will make a gluing surface for the sides to attach to. I'm assuming since you said you will have four sides that the two points will go into a sharp point similar to a Jackson and not be rounded like a Gibson right? If so you will need to make blocks that will fit into those points to be a gluing surface as well.

The other thing you need to come up with is a brace pattern, X brace, fanned like classicals, or some other style, if there is no bracing the top will either not last or will just snap under string tension. Then you also need to be sure to make the bridge so that the wings on it will cover the main braces (like the X brace) otherwise the sound won't transfer properly and will make a weak spot on the top as well.