What Caliper Do You Use ?

Demian

First of all im a noob, and I need to buy a caliper, so I was looking for brands and if it would be mechanical or digital. Well, I managed to confuse me even more.. :D

I know that calipers can measure up to 0.001" of accuracy or even better so the first question is, is it neccesary for guitar building that the caliper could measure with that accuracy ? beacuse i presume that if it is so, the caliper should be a good one with superb quality.

I know that chinesse calipers are not the best ones but the error margins that they handle can affect us for guitar building ?

Do you know the Asimeto and Insize brands in USA ?

I know that Mitutoyo is a great Brand but here are vey expensive and they are made in Brazil not even in Japan.

And the other question is what do you recomend me a mechanical one or a digital one ?

Can you tell me your experiences ?

Thx

One that works. No need to spend hundreds unless you have money to burn.

There are some areas where you do need to make sure you buy top shelf and I'm not saying buy the crappest pair you can find, but you don't need to go overboard if you get my drift.

I'm pretty fussy with my tools and I couldnt even tell you what brand mine are, I know they are digital and the batteries keep running flat even though I turn it off. More expensive ones turn themselves off to save batteries.

I use a cheapy pair of digital calipers. For guitar building you can't go wrong really. I use the internal measuring points for marking out the spacing on nuts before I slot them and the cumulative error is greater from my eye than it is from the calipers.

+1 for cheap metal digital calipers. I don't like the plastic ones. I also have about 3 pair in the shop because I keep laying them down and losing them.

I also like the set I have that does fractions as it is really handy for translating fractions to thousanths to metric...