Searls Guitars Build Thread

demonx

It's been a while since I've done a build thread, so I though I'd post a few pics of what I'm working on at the moment and get one started.

For those of you who don't know me, G'day. I'm Allan, located in Victoria Australia. I'm a hobby builder like you guys but I've been doing it for a while now and have recently registered as a business to keep the tax man happy and stay out of trouble. I build mostly "metal" guitars but occasionally some other styles will sneak through the cracks.

I've just got a new domain/website up this week so if you want to check it out, visit:

www.searlsguitars.com.au

Then theres also my facebook page which I keep up to date the most out of everything:

www.facebook.com/searlsguitars

Ok, so what I've got in the works at the moment is:

These two are in paint stages. At the moment they're in 2k sealer. Sometime next week I'll sand them back and get some clear on them.

An All Aussie timber 8 string neckthru and a Rosewood themed 6 string tele neckthru

483123_377128409035666_499632564_n.jpg

The rear of the tele:

390170_377128985702275_222214295_n.jpg

Another one thats in paint stages at the moment is this lefty SS6. I cannot do any more of the airbrushing until some airbrush parts arrive in the post. I needed to order a new cap and O ring as I ws getting splutter and cannot get the brush close enough to start the freehand detail without making a mess. As soon as the parts arrive I need to get this done, cleared and to the customer.

60706_374616432620197_678247901_n.jpg

Heres the back of the SS6 lefty:

254373_372201772861663_1282938177_n.jpg

Heres the top before the airbrushing (I couldnt talk him into keeping it clear, he wanted the gfx!)

22729_372201712861669_1829225706_n.jpg

Today I was a working on a batch of neck blanks ready for the next series of builds, half are neckthru and half are bolt ons:

Mostly Wenge and Padauk with a touch of Maple

29398_377986472283193_1424315326_n.jpg