Piezo Questions

killemall8

I have wanted to do a guitar with a piezo for quite some time. After Pan kara did his nylon string guitar with it, it reallyk got me excited to do it.

But the thing is, i am completely clueless about them. I dont get how they work, or what i need for them.

I see the ghost saddles are the most popular. Stew mac sells them. But on top of that, i am guessing i need a preamp and all that?

Fill me in a bit. I just spent like 25 minutes going through every single thread that had to do with piezos, but i am still lost.

I found this one, built in to the bridge:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Black-Nickel-Piezo-Tuneomatic-Bridge-ARB-Style-Bridge-Fits-Import-Lp-Guitars-/370802376247?pt=Guitar_Accessories&hash=item56558b3e37

How does that one work, when it only has 2 wires?

I'm not an expert but since I seem to be the guilty one here let me answer :)

What we call "piezo" is basically systems that exploit the piezoelectric effect, where voltage is generated through mechanical stress (pressure) in a piezo crystal. so basically you put this material under the saddle and as the string causes the saddle to vibrate, this gets picked up and translated into alternating current. So this is independent of the sting material, and on the other hand it will pick up things like knocking on the saddles etc.

Its best used with a preamp, the graphtech system has one, they call it the "acousti-phonic", but that's not the only option, I have a Mayones 7-string that has graphtech saddles, but they are using some preamp they designed themselves. The graphtech one lets you mix between the piezo and magnetic pickups (which of course wasnt needed in my case)