First Time Builder, Bridge Anchor Question

A brief introduction, I am a skilled furniture builder and a musician of many years, but first time guitar builder.

I received a guitar kit via the internet to try my first build. Its an SG kit.

When I was test fitting all the pieces, the bridge and tail piece anchors fit loosely in their pre-drilled holes.

I can install them and remove them freely.

Now I'm pretty sure they should not be that loose.

So, question being, what can I do to fix this problem?

I am assuming as a craftsman I can,

1. Fill the holes with dowel material and re-drill the holes.

2. Epoxy the anchors in their hole.

3. Exchange the guitar body for another one from the manufacturer/seller.

Thanks y'all

Hi Bearzwud and welcome to the forum

My prefered way of handling this is to return the body as it obviously is flawed. If that isn't possible you can try to find larger bushings (anchors). That might also mean you need to use a different bridge and tailpiece as the threads might be different. But thats probaly not a bad idea anyway as on most kits the tuners, pickups and bridges quality are so-so. Third option is to fill the holse and redrill them. Most likely it will not be too vivible even under a clear finish (as is is a SG it is mandatory to make it brown, ask Agnus Young). However if you do an opaque finish you can just go ahead and fill/redrill as that is probably the most convinient and fastest solution. However it is not a good solution to epoxy them in place. We can debate the tonal effects of that until the world ends without coming to a consensus. However it makes future repacement a PITA. And if you really like the result of your first build and would like to change out the probably not so good bridge in the future you probably need to be able to pull the bushings