"Custom" Students Guitar Marker/Paint Ideas

Hey there, newbie here. Been playing for eight million years but I'm just starting to get into the building/creating aspect of the instrument.

Long story short, I teach a lot, and our school does shows with different groups of kids every few months. I had the idea this show season to pick up a cheaper electric, bastardize it (well, strip/sand it and prime it) then let the kids go to town with markers/pens/what-have-you to sign it, draw on it, etc.. then clear over it and have a cool unique instrument with lots of memories/stories behind it.

I know the basic idea will "work," but I've never done anything like this before, so I was wondering if anybody had any suggestions... primarily about the markers/paints, and maybe the clear.

Here's the biggie: My idea was a dark, gray/black sort of primer/base coat, and then to let the students go nuts with bright, bold colors on top of it.

First: for the base: would a dark primer be the best option, or would more or less any spray job work underneath markers/paint pens/etc?

For the marker type things... I know there's a lot of options... Sharpie, Elmer's, etc. make some 'paint pens' or 'paint markers' ... so many options! but I'm really just not sure what the best bet would be, and I wouldn't want something that won't play nice with clear over the top. Oil-Based or Water-Based? Anybody have any insight? I *imagine* it's not a gigantic deal either way but I'm deathly afraid of having the kids design their hearts out and then spraying a clear that completely jacks up the paint underneath!

Also, it seems like from what I've read (though, I've never tried any of this!) that just about any poly type clear over the top will work as long as I'm careful and do some very light coats on top of the marker first before I really pile it on... has anybody ever done anything like this before? I tried searching but really couldn't find anything about this idea specifically.