What is the correct relief and curve for a neck?

I am new at this but a long time player now looking to invest in some tools and set up shop.

So I see that there are various methods to leveling frets but what I'd like to know is what is the correct curve for a neck?

Some neck guages measure at the 5th fret some around the 7th, while others use a staight edge and feeler gauges but this all leaves me confused.

Should the neck have a perfect arc to it or should it be more parabolic towards the nut?

I see products like the Katana for fret levelling and although info is limited on the device, it looks like it bows evenly when the nob is tightened.

So this should leave a perfect arc on the neck but is this correct?

Seems to me all my guitars seem to have more curve down at the nut than further up the neck so obviously this is not a perfect arc but more of a parabola but which right?

Has anyone ever studied guitar string motion?

The position of the curve is in relation to the truss rod length. The longer the truss rod, the further down the neck towards the nut the curve will appear. You dont want too short of a truss rod, the rod length should be chosen according to the scale length of the guitar.

You want some curve/backbow in the neck, not too much, but some. Enough to off relief so the strings can be fretted without buz, but not too much that the middle area of the neck is not in proportion height wise to the upper and lower areas.

When adjusting the action, I break it down to three areas, upper lower and middle. The bridge and truss rod have the most effect on all these areas, but the nut height should be the very first to be set. As far as setting up, if the nut height is correct from the beginning, then its simply bridge height and truss rod adjustment.