59 Les Paul Guitar Build. My 1st Build

Hello Everyone!! I have just joined the site and looks to be a great resource! My name is Chris and I am attempting my first guitar build. I have no experience with wood working or guitar building, so I will be flying by seat of my pants. I do have some resources that I can use to help me through the process. My Grandfather is a Master Wood worker and pretty much can build anything out of wood or other materials. I have a friend that does all the furniture repairs for the Hotel I work at and last but not least there is a custom wood and milling shop a few miles away from my house. I got my wood there and going to have them do some small milling work for me.

I decided to build a Les Paul for my first build, because they are one of my all-time favorites. I have done some small work so far, but still waiting to get a few more tools (IE a band saw). I plan to have this build done before the summer ends. I know that seems like a long time, but will one get to work on the guitar one or two days a week. The wife and kids take up most of my spare time. I would be much appreciated if you all would give me tips and ideals through my build.

Here are some pictures of the wood and progress.

Here is the wood I got from the custom wood shop. The wood is African Mahogany and Flame Maple. The shop did some prep work on the wood like get the wood ready to join the body and bookmatched the maple top. I paid around 100 for the wood and milling work.

Wood.jpg?dl=0

Here are the plans I got from the web. If anyone needs a copy I would be happy to email them.

Plans.jpg?dl=0

Here is some of the templets I made. They still need some work but thought I would link them.

Templet.jpg?dl=0

I have glued and clamped the Mahogany.

Body%20Blank.jpg?dl=0

body%20Blank%203.jpg?dl=0