CNC Dout

genesiospinola

Hi. I am a luthier, bought a CNC, and I have ArtCam and Mach3 programs. I want to build guitars. Use the ArtCam for some jobs, but I wonder if it is good to develop the top of a Les Paul guitar, for example. I glanced at Solidworks and Rhino, but found it a bit complicated, and not found until now a course or a person who guide me the best thing to do. My questions: continue with ArtCam? Which program is best suited to build guitars - better = more practical, less complicated and has a good result. Three years have passed in the pursuit of this knowledge and answers. I appreciate it immensely if they could help me. Thank you all!

Well first let's get the CAD/CAM difference out of the way. Yes, the drawing solutions within CAM softwares are usually much more simplistic and easy to use. However, that's cause they're extremely limited! I would never even dream of trying to design something as complicated as a carved top within a CAM package. Not in a million years.

There's a lot to learn with Rhino on youtube. For some reason this seems to be the program a lot of guitar builders use for CAD and it also has worked well for me. I can't comment on other programs as I liked Rhino from day one and have stuck with it.

As for modeling an LP top, here's generally how I would start out:

1- Draw my guitar outline shape

2- Figure out where I want the "highest points" of my carve (usually under the bridge) and draw a line points up the Z axis there equal to the height I want my carve.

3- Draw some curves from the top of the line from #2 to the far edges of your upper and lower bouts.

4- Do that same thing from the top of the line in #2 to the center-line-end of your body

5- And to the centerline-end at the neck

6- Play with the "rail revolve" feature using the line from #2 as your center of rotation, your guitar outline as the rail, and your curves you drew in #3 and #4 as your profile curves.