Aria Pro II SB-1000 bass electronics restoration

This is definitely a bit left of centre for our usual fare. People that know me a little beyond ProjectGuitar.com will be aware that I've been a big Aria Pro II (and Japanese instruments in general) for many years. To the point that I have fallen into being a go-to guy for the SB-1000 in terms of electronics and the stuff that makes it what it is.

So anyway, I get an email reference that a guy is looking to restoring the electronics on his 1981 SB-1000. That's what I do. He drops round, we have coffee and have a nice afternoon discussing the job and all manner of other things. His bass needs a bit of physical restoration work, but is fundamentally in original condition. Not bad for a 35yr-old bass!

Come up to the lab and let's see what's on the slab:

DSC_0788.jpg

By this point, I'd taken off the strings, nut and spent time degunking the fingerboard....

IMG_8073 -1.jpg

I know that you'll love this even though it doesn't have magnets, @curtisa. The cover is a neat and perfect Rosewood inlay....

IMG_8074 -2.jpg

The frets are fairly worn in the lower region as you'd expect. I'm thinking that it could possibly do with a refret, however we'll see how the remaining wire levels out once the rod is relaxed and the neck acclimated. Either the existing gunk was more resistant to my charms than your average common-or-garden gunk, or that's residue from a glued refret. I've also noticed a couple of light cracks in the Ebony.....

IMG_8075 -1.jpg