My first guitar and bass builds :)

Zoltar

Hello all,

I've been a lurker here for a couple of months now, admiring (and often being absolutely gobsmacked by) all of your beautiful projects and I've finally found myself in a position where I can have a go at my own. I've always been a 'maker', mostly of furniture over the last few years, but occasionally stage sets, film props, toys and all sorts of other things. While browsing Amazon a couple of months ago, I saw a book about designing and building guitars and basses by Leo Lospenatto and decided to have a look. I instantly decided 'I need to have a go at this' which led me to search for lots of youtube videos and eventually Project Guitar. Seeing all your projects just made me want to make my own guitar even more!

I messed about with bass guitars a bit when I was a kid, I never had a guitar though. As I'm new to all this I really had no idea about what wood to go for, what scale to use, how to do wiring etc. so I eventually decided to make both a guitar and a bass so I can try lots of different things, This project will be a bit of a steep learning curve. The great thing about that is it really doesn't matter if I make a few mistakes along the way. I've learnt many of my greatest lessons by screwing things up completely :D 

....but hopefully some of you guys can point out silly mistakes I'm making, or if my decisions are a bit odd, why I should try something else. any help or advice will be hugely appreciated!

I mostly make furniture and currently work in a small  workshop as a freelancer. I trained as a metalworker, but over the years I've also spent a fair bit of time doing cabinet making. A few years ago I worked at a company making office furniture and the Guv decided to get a CNC, so I learnt how to use that and also learnt CAD in order to program it. So I shall be designing my guitar/basses in Rhino and doing much of the routing on the dodgy Chinese CNC we have in the corner of my current workplace.