First time anything

Phaddie

Hey Guys,

I am about to start my first ever build.  I have played on an off for the last 20 ish years.  Went about 6 or 7 without a guitar.  Just had my 40th birthday and my friends and family all pitched in a got me a Les Paul.  First thing I realized was that you can forget a WHOLE bunch about playing in a short amount of time.

When going through the process of selecting the guitar I realized I knew very little about setting up or maintaining a guitar.  After fiddling with this gibson for a while I have decided I want to build a guitar.  

A few problems. 

1. My experience level is at about -1 right now.  I have limited experience with some of the tools needed and no experience with others.

2. I have not established access to a shop yet and my wife is skeptical about any mess I will make here in the house.

My solution:

Thinking about starting with a DIY kit.  There is a place here near Toronto that has full kits at super cheap prices.  I realize the quality will be low, but it seems like a logical place to start to see if I enjoy the process, and can develop some of the skills I need.

My questions:

This is the kit I was looking at.  It is a tele kit with what they call an "ash burl" top.  I am going in a few days to check it out but I am assuming that the top is a veneer.  If this is true how much does this limit my options with finish?  I was hoping to fill the grain with something very dark and stain/dye the rest a red colour.

Next question.  I was hoping to engrave a logo on the back and maybe the front of the guitar.  See attached. My hope was to make the logo a couple of mm deep and fill it with the same colour as the grain.  Then finish with clear over the entire body.  I was hoping someone could point me to some tutorials on that process.  I do have access to an X-Carve cnc machine and possibly a laser cutter which I think will help with the logo.