Figured wood T type build

Hello all, I am new to this website and forums and I just want to find more information to help me improve my guitar building skills. I will also endeavour to provide everyone else with any info and help with anything I can along the way. I have just purchased various pieces of wood for my latest build which I will be starting in a few weeks. The main objective I am looking to get right is the high gloss clear lacquer finish on the body (nitrocellulose). I used to be a vehicle paint refinisher so I have plenty of spraying experience as well as having all the equipment but have only used 2k paint products, never nitrocellulose. I also want to learn a lot about wood and various different ways to finish them.

This is the first build where I will be using a Spalted Maple cap (or any cap for that matter). 

I want to try it out on a simple shape, hence a T type (flat top). 

I am using 40mm Ash for the body, 8mm Spalted Maple for the cap, Maple for the neck and a lovely piece of Zebrano for the fretboard. 

Hope to communicate with you soon.

Thanks.

RenderedContent-0C3A6C11-862B-4C5C-8CAE-965198129AEA.JPG

RenderedContent-C956271B-1A9A-4639-8750-D0D78DD99999.JPG

RenderedContent-086CDC89-10EE-4475-B2D3-1FB8556D90F2.JPG

RenderedContent-DCE7E6EA-C554-475F-8E92-ED551994280A.JPG

• Like 1

On 03/09/2017 at 10:12 PM, Stu. said:

That's some lovely spalt! Does it need to be stabilised somehow before you can use it?

This is the first time I've used Spalted wood so I'm not sure what to do to be honest. I've read that some people use super glue on bits of it and other suggest epoxy. Any ideas?