fretfind2d multiscale help! rhino beginner help!

guitarjunkie87

hi peeps I've just joined the site and i could do with some complete noob help.

right i have this design and a few different versions of it (different perpendicular fret positioning)

im having a real hard time working out how to determine the bridge angle from fretfind2d information, what calculations do i do and where do i find the exact numbers i need to for this?

i will be using a 7 string hipshot multiscale hardtail bridge and i'm stuck not being able to figure out whether i need the 11, 18, 21 or 26 degree bridge.

i imagine this is a stupid thing but i haven't done much math properly in about 16 years so i'm just stuck on stupid and need some advice lol.

once i know how to do the calculations for my bridge angle i can do the rest and become familiar with the routine.

i appreciate any help you guys can give me.

26-27.5 scale perpendicular fret - 12 - 30 frets.pdf

If you have Rhino why are you still using Fretfind2D...?

Here's how I do multi-scales in Rhino:

1- Go to the stewmac site and use their fret calculator to find the distances for some common scale length (25, 25.5, whatever)

2- Plot those out on a line with dots for each fret and the bridge location

3- You can now use the "Scale" command to make any scale length you want by changing the scale between the nut point and the bridge point

4- For a multi-scale draw a line to your desired width for the perpendicular fret's string width (not fretboard width)

5- Draw lines at your nut for desired string spacing at nut

6- Place your two desired scales at the ends of your perpendicular-fret line

7- Use the rotate command to rotate each scale around the point where it hits the perpendicular-fret-line and rotate it until the nut-end is in the desired place

8- Finish drawing your fretboard

Chris

29 minutes ago, verhoevenc said:

If you have Rhino why are you still using Fretfind2D...?

Here's how I do multi-scales in Rhino: