JimF's First Build!

Hi All,

I'm starting a build thread mainly to keep track of my progress and also for hints & tips if anyone stops me going wrong somewhere, and encouragement if I get disheartened!

As per the title, this is my first build from scratch. Like everyone else I've done a few parts builds, but I've also got experience with woodwork from a little knifemaking sideline I've done until changing jobs recently. For those who are interested, here are some pics: 

24v5stg.jpg

2yytu94.jpg

1zqsydh.jpg

33wm5q9.jpg

2qbf38w.jpg

i38l05.jpg

Back to the case in hand!

I'm building the following:

6 string Blackmachine type guitar

Tulip Poplar body

Maple top (below average figuring)

Padauk neck with wenge centre strip & white laminates (0.6mm thick), scarf joint into headstock.

Ebony ferret

Fixed Hipshot-style bridge

Locking tuners

Still undecided on pickups, I have a single Sentient, but I fancy white/zebra pups in this build so am toying with the idea of a set of Irongear pickups. For the price I don't think I can go wrong.

Colour and finish wise I'll be going for an unfinished neck, oiled body and stained top. Haven't decided whether to go for oiled satin finish on the top or wipe on poly buffed to a high gloss. Colour will be a light brown/dark amber non burst.

I'm cheating with this build as I have bought a pre-slotted, pre-radiused fretboard, and I'll be using router templates 

On to pics!

Router templates from http://www.templatesandjigs.com/ 

IMG_1113.jpg

Photos from the eBay listing of the top wood:

IMG_1033.jpg

This is the type of finish I'm aiming for colour wise:

IMG_1915.jpg

Pics of the raw materials:

DSC_2590.jpg

DSC_2591.jpg

DSC_2592.jpg

DSC_2593.jpg

DSC_2594.jpg

DSC_2595.jpg

DSC_2596.jpg

DSC_2600.jpg

Looking forward to getting started in the coming weeks!

• Like 2

2 hours ago, JimF said: