Hello. New to the site....No laughing please

Hello. I just stumbled on the site and thought i'd stop and say hello as it looks a useful resource for a complete novice (in every sense!).

My little one wanted an electric guitar but every part of learning to play blows his mind. I thought we could have a bit of fun together and knock up a tea chest esque soundbox twanger stick type affair. It ended up going a little off topic and we knocked up this little baby monster out of an old oak table leg and a slab of counter top. Not having a workbench made it a challenge as building a guitar on a stone doorstep is not without its pitfalls but we cracked on with it anyway and ended up with this gnome sized 3 string 26" long fretless pocket sized metal guitar thing.  He loves it and is starting to find his fingers, I now find myself thinking about making a sensible full sized guitar and hopefully picking up a few shreds of knowledge  to get this and the next one sounding a bit better! 

If you can bear with me I'm sure mk2 will be a bit more in keeping with some of the other starter guitars here.

Ta

IMG_E6554 (2).jpg

• Like 3

I too am dabbling into the CGB guitar and slide steel world after making standard guitars. It is surprising how fun they can be. Other than 3 or 4 strings there are no real rules as  to hardware, tunings and shape.

CGB type guitars are really coming into there own now and I think it's great.

More important is, you are having some quality time with your Son.

Keep up the the good work.

mk

3 hours ago, ScottR said:

I think that is pretty dang cool, and a great project for a father and young son. My son was only a a bit shy of thirty when I build him his first guitar.:D Was finding a three string bridge tricky?

And welcome to the forum.

SR