First guitar!

I have been lurking around here for a while, marveling at the REALLY cool stuff that many of you make.

Ever since I started playing 25 or so years ago, I have always daydreamed about building my own guitar.  My first guitar is a Mexican Strat that I still have and love.  I tend to prefer Les Pauls and still own three (71 Custom '54 Reissue, 83 Standard Tobacco, 96 DC AAA)

I have an uncle that lives in North Carolina that makes furniture and he has a warehouse of wood in storage.  When I got married, he build my wife and I a pie cabinet out of Black Walnut.  It's so beautiful, I asked him if he had any scrap lying around that he could send me that I could use to build a guitar body.

A few months later I got this in the mail...

45764451265_dbcb9fdd5a_z.jpg

45764451335_a70c6a97d1_c.jpg

Im terrified to mess up this blank!  I guess I'm mostly terrified to mess up the neck joint as my plan is to bolt up a strat neck to it and I want it to be right.  I dont really care what the shape is, just as long as the neck fits properly.

My goal is a carved, PRS style body with Humbucker, Single Single or Dual Humbucker.... not sure yet.

I do need advice as to how I should go about this as this is my very first attempt building a guitar and I REALLY dont want to mess up the work my uncle put into this!

Thank you!

right on brutha!  welcome!  The gents in here will def get you going in the right direction and will be along with the advice soon.  Since I still have my training wheels I won't offer any, just wanted to say "welcome" and "cool wood".

cheers

10 minutes ago, mistermikev said:

right on brutha!  welcome!  The gents in here will def get you going in the right direction and will be along with the advice soon.  Since I still have my training wheels I won't offer any, just wanted to say "welcome" and "cool wood".

cheers

Im not used to men commenting on or admiring my wood but I have the feeling that's not the first time that's happened on this forum