Fitting a simil-Bigsby on a semi-acoustic

Hi All,

my name is Max, I'm from Italy and live in Germany and I have some experience in guitar and drumshells (!!!) building.

I came across a copy of a Bigsby B7 that looks decent but at a closer look, that is when trying to fit it on a semiacoustic like a 335, the problems start. Now, this is my first experience with this type of vibrato, so I'm not sure where the problem is. I'll try to be as clear as possible: If I check the bottom surface of the unit, the side below the spring is perfectly flat, while the other side is slightly bent downwards, therefore it doesn't sit properly on the guitar top. My guess would be that it's supposed to be flat, is it correct? Do you think it would be safe to try and bend it to a more correct shape?

Thanks in advance,

Max.

As the instruction leaflet says,

• Align the hinged part of the vibrato with the original strap button hole
  • Check that the hinged part rests flat against the guitar end and that the top of the vibrato is level on the guitar surface

That sounds like the bottom should be flat. You can try to bend it, or if it doesn't want to bend, file it flat. I suppose...

Edited by Bizman62
Added hyperlink to instructions

Hi Bizman, thanks for the reply. Little off-topic, I think we met already on the forum at Crimson Guitars, didn't we? do you know what happened over there? I tried to send them an email but to no avail. Anyway, happy to find you here!

As for the installation instructions: yes, I've seen them too, but to me that means that the two parts where the screws go should lie on the same plane, not necessarily that the entire part should be flat. In the end it's going to be screwed on an arched top.

When I have time I'll see if they still have the Epi 335 Bonamassa at Musicstore and try to figure it out. Unfortunately the only blueprints I've found of the B7 are from the top and not from the side.