Building with Korina and Sapele

Hi Everyone,

Total novice here so apologies if this is a dense question (and please go easy on me!)

I've just started to plan out my first ever guitar build of any kind - as an engineer and guitar addict it was only a matter of time! My plan is to build a tele style guitar with a chambered body, the hope being to get a tele twang with a little more warmth in the final result. As a personal preference I'm looking at making a bolt-on maple neck and fretboard (and there seems to be a lot of material online to help with that) but my current, largely aesthetically driven, plan was to use a Korina/Limba body with a Pommelle Sapele top. So the questions I was hoping you lovely internet people might be able to help with are:

1) Any general comments, suggestions or tips on working with either of these?

2) What would be the best process for preparing these woods, and really allowing the grain of the wood to look its best?

3) Any issues with using a clear Nitro finish on them to seal and protect? If not that, what would you recommend as an alternative? I've read that poly is an option but that it can be more difficult to use.

As I said I'm a totally new starter but really enthused about my first chance to make a guitar. I'm keen to learn how and happy to be patient and put in some elbow grease to get a good result.

Thanks so much in advance all,

Will

Hi Will and welcome, where in the UK are you? You will find there are a few Brits on the forum