Crazy, Mono String Bass Project! OPINIONS?!

Big_Bur

I'm new to guitar building and for some reason I've set my mind on a wacky little project. It won't be the most useful instrument but I want it to be as interesting and unique as possible.

I want to build a single string, mega bass. I want to build it from scratch as much as I can. My plan so far is to use a .270 gauge string tuned as low as it'll go. Because there's only one string I want to make a custom pickup out of a speaker magnate to make a giant, two inch round, single pickup. On the finished build it'll be a polished metal disc under the string. It'll run direct to the jack.

For the body I want to do something a bit narrow with two contours on the bottom similar to a Maverick Dorado so it can be used in a standard sitting position and more upright sitting position. I'm not sure what wood to use. I might try to beautify a piece of good plywood and layer it.

The neck will also be narrow and I'm debating whether to go fretless or not. I'm also not sure if I'll have problems with the tension of such a heavy string.

I'm currently looking for interesting tuning machines. I basically want anything other than a standard bass tuner sticking off the side. Suggestions would be great here.

Basically the idea is, simple as possible and nothing standard, without it looking like a hunk of junk of course. I want it to be a show piece if I can manage it.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

A friend wanted a washtub bass so he got a tub. But instead of using a broomstick he carved an upright bass neck for it. And believe it or not he can even slap it! You know instead of thump...thump...thump he can go rattlety-rattlety-rattlety like a snare drum!

There's a luthier building minimalistic instruments for kids to get a grasp on playing. The site is in Finnish only but the images speak for themselves: https://www.vekarasoittimet.fi/soittimet. FYI "vekara" = "kid".