Wide Range Humbuckers on a Strat ?

Hi guys,

so I have never built a guitar before but I decided to give it ago. I bought some parts off eBay. Amongst the stuff were two Fender Wide Range Humbuckers (reissue) and a fully loaded HH scratch plate from a brand new Squier Contemporary.  

Will these two be compatible? Apart from widening the pickup holes and drilling two new wholes for mounting as the Wide Range Humbucker is 4 post mounted. Will it be as easy as unsoldering the Humbuckers off the plate and soldering the Wide Rang Humbuckers back in the same places?

I have no knowledge of any of this but I am excited to learn. I know these WR Humbuckers are second hand so I have to test them. This will involve a multimeter. Any tips on testing and soldering procedures would be appreciated.

Thanks 🙏 

The info that's floating around out there seems to indicate that the reissue Fender Wide Range Humbuckers are nothing more than a regular humbucker installed into an oversized case. This differs from the original wide range humbucker in that the construction necessitated the larger case.

To that end I'd suggest treat them electrically as the standard humbuckers that they appear to be. Bog standard Strat components will work, but you may find that the tone is a little on the dark side, in which case you can exchange the volume and tone pots from 250K to 500K as used in most other humbucker-equipped instruments.

Of course, that's over and above the requirement to modify the scratchplate to fit the physically larger pickups (and possibly the pickup cavities in the guitar body too) that you've already noted.

• Thanks 1

37 minutes ago, DangerDave93 said:

Thanks that’s really helpful. I will hopefully get it up and running and if it’s muddy I will follow the advice for the 500k pots. Do you have any knowledge of which watt soldering iron to buy? 
Also, is it worth putting copper tape in the cavities of the guitar and will I have to solder on to that also?

Cheers ✌️