My First Project

hi friends, i,m from mexico, and this is my first project, i need your help and your comments.

The most dificult part for me its the neck, im like scared because i dont know how to do the radius and the back of the neck, i need sanding but my cuestion is in the radius, i want a Wizard neck like ibanez, but the radius is 12" in the nut and 16" in the bridge, how can i do that?

Here my pics.

Chossing the wood. Her its a big trouble because you cant find good wood.

Im clamping 4 pieces of 1" of widht.

Neptuno body pics

Bienvenido,

but you posted on the wrong forum... Any of the mods might be able to move it, so just PM, Kevan, Wes, or Brian...

I know how it is over there... a few of my friends already told me, but it looks as you are doing pretty good, do a search here and you will find a few good neck tutorials, or go to the main site neck tutorial

Mexican woods that would work are:

Cocobolo for the fretboard

Mahogany for the neck. You could use cocobolo here too, but it wouldn't be ideal.

Doing a compound radius like you mentioned isnt easy. I would go with a straight 16" radius. The back of the neck is shaped, not radiused, just dont go thru the truss rod route. That almost never happens, but be careful not to.

BTW....topic moved

• 1 month later...

Hi Again, well my project is very slow, thats the template of the headstock.

headstock

And i think im wrong using only ash, because of the tonality, its like a coin in the floor, and right now i want to use Mahogany to add more low tonality.

Do you think the mahogany and ash combination in the neck its a good option? maybe can help a little and the sound could be fat.

Thanks and excuse me, my English is awful :D

Yeah, but if I hit you with a rock maple bat I bet I'd knock out a few more teeth...:D

Wizard necks are very thin and you must use strong wood and a good trussrod to keep it stable. I would use maple. Mahogany is not strong enough, either.