soldering iron

unsubtle57

also, if your ever going to be doing any more soldering in the future or if you just like it. SERIOUSLY consider investing in a medium-high grade one. the difference is alot. bascially the ones at radio shack and stuff SUCK compared to a nice Weller.

a good one will run around 60-100$ so not crazy expensive

Yes weller are nice!

this is the one I had in my shop, now I have a portable kit that I got in my guard unit that was thrown away when the transformer went bad, I replaced it and that was it. The only difference is that mine is not variable.

That's cool. My electronics teacher back in highschool had a 'soldering station' likethat. Maybe when my OKAY soldering iron breaks I'll get something like that.

I Use my soldering iron everyday for three hours on end.

I have the same 25 watt that I have been using for three years. I would not go higher than 30 watts or you will fry your caps and pots.

I replace my tip about once a month thats it.

If you are having trouble soldering to the back of your pots you need to file off some of the resin that is on them. I would post a pic but I am at my other job...

When my last RS special died, I bit the bullet and ordered this one:

Auto-Temp Electronic Temperature Controlled Soldering Station (379UL)

Man, I wish I'd done this years ago! While I don't use mine nearly as often as Big D does, I do tend to run it for several hours at a time when I use it, and I haven't had any problems. The temperature control is wonderful, especially when I go from soldering boards to tinning ground busses or soldering to pots and connectors - you can simply turn it up a bit, and it'll do the job in seconds. For $45.00, it's a deal, and I got a free multimeter thorwn in. It doesn't have the cool digital readout that the Wellers have, but it does the job. Take a look.