electric strings on an acoustic?

i was wondering would ther be any harmful effects by putting electric guitar strings onto a steel string acoustic?i love D'Addario Chromes but i cant find anything similar for my acoustic so i was thinking "couldnt i just put a set of chromes on my acoustic"? so ya any harmful effects that might oocur

acoustic strings are made thicker. if you put electric strings on the neck bow wont be right. if you notice, electric strings bend easily, acoustic strings are harder and pulled more taught. im not really an expert, but i can tell you that much. i think it could work, but from past experience, it sounds horrible. it will sound dead.

Strings for acoustics are usually made a little different than strings for an electric. Besides the obvious unwound-G (although the only strings you could get until Ernie Ball came around were railroad tracks with wound-Gs), the metals, number of winds, tension and the profile of the strings is going to be much different. Such as phosphor-bronze coated strings for acoustics vs. plain steel for electrics. The strings are just going to sound different, maybe a little more trebly and less boomy. Some people would call that a thin sound, others may find it perfect on a piezo-equipped guitar.

Anyways, it never hurts to experiment. You never know if you'll like the sound unless you try it. Besides, it's not like you're taking a router to the guitar or throwing a set of non-returnable custom pickups at it either. The only thing you'll be out, if you don't like the sound, is a set of $5.00 strings.