Probably the usual newbie questions

Dugz Ink

Here's the background: I have a LOT of woodworking experience, but I have never built a guitar, let alone bought pickups. I am clueless.

However, my first guitar body is looking better than I had expected, and I'm to the stage where I need to mark out and cut out the body for the appropriate hardware. (Or, at least, I think I am... but I could be wrong.)

I was going to just move all of the hardware plus the neck over from my cheap-miester Epiphone, but now I'm thinking "If this turns out beautiful, I'm going to want a nice neck and some decent pickups.

But I don't know anything about pickups. All I know is that somebody told me that the humbucker pickups on my Chinese "Les Paul Jr" are pretty cheap. (Since I've already spent some time trying to straighten out the neck and the frets, I know they're cheap... and believe people when they say that the same is true of the hardware.)

So where can an idiot like me read up on pickups? I need to learn about the types of pickups AND how the various types/models may affect the way I mount the neck and hardware.

If you could post some links, or point me to a thread that I've overlooked, I would appreciate it.

D~s

Here's the background: I have a LOT of woodworking experience, but I have never built a guitar, let alone bought pickups. I am clueless.

However, my first guitar body is looking better than I had expected, and I'm to the stage where I need to mark out and cut out the body for the appropriate hardware. (Or, at least, I think I am... but I could be wrong.)

I was going to just move all of the hardware plus the neck over from my cheap-miester Epiphone, but now I'm thinking "If this turns out beautiful, I'm going to want a nice neck and some decent pickups.