Worth Another Coat?

Happy New Year one n' all...my kids wake up early...must have heard me stumble into bed...:D

Anyway, I did my color coats yesterday. It came out really well...not a single drip or spit or smear, no orange peel either. I'm really pleased, considering I've never tried this before. (I'm using automotive rattle cans)

I have a couple of issues. They're pretty minor to me, but I'd like your advice:

In order to make the Bocaster, I cut and reglued parts of the guitar. I used a sanding sealer, then a couple of coats of primer. But you can still see--faintly-- the glue lines on the back of the guitar.

Also, I let the guitar sit around for a while with its wood bare before I got around to doing the finish. As a result, it's developed a bunch of tiny cracks (it's alder, that's supposed to be normal). I was able to fill most of them ....but they're still slightyly visible.

My question: is it worth doing another color coat before I move on to the clear coats? Will that cover up the marks a bit more, or do I risk ruining what is an otherwise nice looking surface?

I'll put up photos soon, maybe later today...

I understand what went wrong though--I used a grain filler, but I should have used the sealer that I saw in the auto shop next to the primer...it would have done a better job of it...that'll be for the next guitar...

B)

It really depends how deep the lines are; you might be able to level them out with your clear coat, but not your color coat. You'll have to have a pretty thick clear coat. What are you going to use for clear, nitro? Polyurethane?