Newbie Question About Soundholes

Hi i'm a college student who was just starting to pick up the guitar. Anyways im too poor to afford anything so i figured i would build my acoutic guitar. I've not quite a bit a woodworking but i've found that building in instrument is really different than cabinetry stuff.

So i didnt even know great forums on building guitars exsisted till i found this one in mysearch for finding info on finishing the project. But the question i have is because i wanted to do something intresting and i'm decent with scroll sawing so i scrolled out this dragon piece right in the soundhole. I was wondering now if it will be produce really adverse affects in the sound.

Also what's the difference for the F type soundholes or the upper corner ones or the normal in thein the middle large soundhole.

I hope you guys have some answers. In anycase really great site and after fumbling through my first guitar i hope it turns out allright.

Hi i'm a college student who was just starting to pick up the guitar. Anyways im too poor to afford anything so i figured i would build my acoutic guitar. I've not quite a bit a woodworking but i've found that building in instrument is really different than cabinetry stuff.

May I suggest that if cost really IS the issue, you'll do much better getting an inexpensive guitar. Yamaha, Takamine, and others have some playable guitars for $200, and you can even get away for just over half that. Or, get one like that used for even less...

If you want to pick up guitar building as another woodworking skill, great. But it won't save you any money in the short term.

Your idea sounds really frickin cool, could we see some pics? I don't really know how much shape and size of the sound hole changes the sound.

You may also want to check out The musical instrument makers forum or MIMF at

MIMF