Marshall 8100 Upgrade To Jcm800

ROBERTLATHAM1

HELLO,

I AM NEW TO THE BOARD HERE! SO HELLO ALL! ALRIGHT ON WITH IT. I AM AN ELECTRICIAN NJOT ELECTRONIC TECH SO IM LIMITED. WHAT I WANT TO DO IS UPGRADE/MODIFY MY MARSHAAL 8100 VALVESTATE HEAD TO A MARSHALL JCM 800 HEAD. FIRST IS THIS POSSABLE AND SECOND WHERE CAN I FIND THE WIREING DIAGRAMS TO DO SO?

jtm 45 thanx again man i got the schematic's i need my brother is a tech ans feels he can build the head fairly easy but the price is what he said mught concern me it got to be cheaper than $1600 which is price for re-issue of the jcm 800!

Just a suggestion, but it might be cheaper to find a used "donor" amp and mod it into shape - lots of used 50 watt amps out there you can pick up cheap, and you'll have a chassis w/sockets, pots, etc. and transformers for probably less than you can buythe trannies new! Just gut it and build a JCM800 in it.

yeah thats a good idea i was talking to my brother who is a electronics tech and he said that the parts were going to be costly , but i still believe that i can build the jcm cheaper than buying one used ofcourse.

thanx for the suggestion that is prob the direction i will go. i was hopeing i could have did mods to the 8100, but i dont know electronics well enough to know if that was posable. jtm45 says no way

anyways thanx

I can almost guarantee that buying a used JCM800 is going to be cheaper, easier, and more reliable than attempting to convert the 8100 box into a completely different amp.

Seriously, if you want to learn how to build an amp, cool. But unless your brother is going to be there to rip into the box every time it cuts out on you on stage or wherever, it's going to be a major PITA.