6 String To 7 String Js

I really want to build a 7 string js, but I've never built a guitar before. I assume I'm only going to be able to find a 6 string js body and I'll have to convert it to work with 7 string pu's, trem and neck. Can anyone point me in the right direction of learning how to convert a 6 to a 7 string... what issues I need to keep in mind when doing it, etc. Also, I looked on warmoth's site for 7 string necks, but I hate their headstock. I really want to give it a full ibanez look, so will I have to just look for a 7 string wizard neck on ebay or are there other places that sell the same designed type necks? Thanks.

Be carefull on the 7 string neck, they're 24 fret and I believe the JS is 22

yep -- an RG7 neck won't fit a JS body. and the Warmoth 7-string necks are a different scale length -- 25" i believe, instead of 25 1/2". they won't fit a JS either.

there was a company Zolla Guitars that used to make 7-string 'conversion' necks -- with a wide 7-string fingerboard and a 6-string neck heel. however, i heard of orders from them in the late 90s taking 6+ months to fill, so i don't know if they are reliable or even still in business.

but even with a conversion neck, you'd still have lots of other problems to figure out. the bridge routing would have to be totally redone, and there may not be enough room to dowel and redrill the stud bushing holes.

Okay....can't let this one pass I guess.

So you want JS-7 right???

I could sell you mine......

Oh, darn......it's not for sale. :D

Okay......first some questions.....

Do you want exact copy (of guitar that not really excists), or do you want something in general direction??? For nice clean conversion you have to find S-7 type neck......as they are 22 fret 25.5" scale if I'm correct. Check evil*bay.....they tend to pop up once in a while.