Complete Noob

Hi People, Just joined up today. Forum's great, lots of info!

I'm thinking of putting together something myself, however i am a complete novice with no tools and no experience at all! :D

I don't want to get too ahead of myself or anything. I don't think i could handle shaping a neck etc. I might just get myself a big plank of mahogany or maple or something and start on a body and get a neck from warmoth or something.

I was just wondering if anyone had any general advice? Is making a guitar 'hard' for a beginner?

I think i may get stuck when it comes to stuff like routing etc.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks :D

Well, if its advice you seek, use the search button at the top right of your screen, all the info you will probibly need is in there. As for making a body, read the tutorial on the main site, its good. Theres really not alot else i can say apart from Welcom to Project Guitar :D

Just noticed this was my 500th post, i need to get out more...

Edited by Marzocchi705

Well, if its advice you seek, use the search button at the top right of your screen, all the info you will probibly need is in there. As for making a body, read the tutorial on the main site, its good. Theres really not alot else i can say apart from Welcom to Project Guitar :D

Couldnt agree more... "Search".. you will usually find your answer within minuites reading through the posts... if not then post... :D

Hope you enjoy your stay here BonzaiBob

~~ Slain Angel ~~

Bob, unless I am mistaken, you are a person with more time on your hands than a lot of us. It is not a necessity to "route" the neck pocket or any other pocket. The same result can be achieved with time and some sharp tools (chisels, exactos, etc.) If you were to score a neck to start with, get a piece of whatever wood and practice making the pocket. You will enjot the effort.

I'm thinking of putting together something myself, however i am a complete novice with no tools and no experience at all!  :D