Drill Arbor

duo2

Funniest question ever asked at Project Guitar. :D

I see you're fairly new, which has nothing to do with the question, but let me take this opportunity to welcome you aboard. Welcome! :D

I think what duo2 is asking is...

Is there a button that stops the drill spinning even if you move it by hand. Ie some kind of spindle lock, so whatever you do the fret setter will stay in the same position.

Answer, No, never seen one. But then again you dont really need it :D

:D

Well im glad I could humor you guys haha. And yes I am very new at building guitars from scratch. I have been repairing and modifying them for as long as I have been playing and now I'm expanding on my abilities. Thanks for the quick answers, they are greatly appreciated.

• 4 weeks later...

I use a drillpress to press in fretts, and I can only add that I apreciate the ability to turn the fret setter. It actualy makes it easier to position the neck. I do the fine-positioning bu sligthly turning the setter. Much easyer than trying to adjust the neck when using a drillpress.

I have used a drill press for this before. I made an arbor by cutting off the end of one of StewMacs leveling blocks. Here is my setup. It works fine and I fretted many guitars with it.

I have since upgraded to using this and this. It is by far a superior system if you have the money but the drill press method does work.

I have since upgraded to using this and this. It is by far a superior system if you have the money but the drill press method does work.

That #4483 fret press is worth the money, IMHO, if for no other reasons than to keep your neck/axe on a flat bench instead of 3 feet in the air, stronger press gearing means a better feedback of how hard you are pressing and NO wear on the quill gear of your drill press. Hate to send more jobs to asia but you can't beat that price with an Albert Lea.