Fender Hot Noiseless Installation Tips?

Pekollio

Hello All,

I'm in the process of building a Warmoth strat and will be installing Fender Hot Noiseless pickups. Unfortunately, the diagram that came with the pickups looks to be a 7th generation photocopy of a photocopy. I have plenty of diagrams from online sites but I do have a couple of questions.

1. Fender suggests using 1meg pots for both volume and (2) tone controls but because of the horrible diagram I cannot tell what cap to use, any suggestions?

2. Is there a recommended brand of capacitors?

3. I came across a Jeff Beck Strat wiring diagram and although it looks to show the exact pickups I purchased, it shows a 500k volume pot and two 1meg tone pots. Will this method make a serious difference? I have contacted the Fender Customer Service department and found it to be pretty worthless as it took them 20+ minutes to find out that the pickups I own are manufactured in the color 'vintage white'.

I have some experience with the installation replacement pickups but this will be my first time attempting a complete wiring of a guitar, so please bear with me if these questions seem ridiculous.

Thanks for the time, it's greatly appreciated.

Rich

~~Pekollio~~

Edited by Pekollio

Pretty much any .022uF (or you might prefer .01uF if your tone pots are 1 Megs) film or ceramic disc cap will work (I prefer film caps, but I can't swear that there's an audible difference). Most any brand you have access to will work fine - I've used Xicon, Mallory and Illinois interchangably without any complaints, and this isn't an application where the sterling qualities of a Solen or some other high quality audiophile cap is really going to make any difference (IMO). Using a 1Meg volume pot will make the overall sound somewhat brighter than using a 500K (so long as the volume is wide open).