Les Paul J.page Wiring- Problem With Finding Pots

V S

hi there!

I'm new to that forum.. hello everyone.

And well, that are my first questions.

1)

I already added coils splitting to my LP using long shaft CTS push/pull potis.

However what I don't like about these pots... in opsite to the stock gibson pots they seem to be logarithmic instead of linear. All the volume is gone with turning the knob just a little bit.

Are there any push pull potis with long shaft that are linear and if yes where can i buy them?

Or can i modify the CTS pots by exchanging the platsic part which has the layer which is responsible for the electric resistance? Anyone already tried that?

2)

I want to install phase switching and parallel/series switching, too. The CTS pots don't work for this since they only have 2 connectors. I need the ones with 6 connectors (besides the 3 regular ones).

But I never saw any of thes push/pull pots with a long shaft. Are they available at all?

Some help on these issues woule be appreciated.

Cheers,

Volker

Edited by V S

However what I don't like about these pots... in opsite to the stock gibson pots they seem to be logarithmic instead of linear. All the volume is gone with turning the knob just a little bit.

Are there any push pull potis with long shaft that are linear and if yes where can i buy them?

Actually... the kind of pots that have a linear VOLUME control have a logarithmic RESISTANCE control (Logarithmic D-Taper (sometimes just called "audio taper") are the proper ones). It sounds like what you have are actually linear pots, the wrong thing for volume control, which gives you exactly what you've described :D.

Edited by jnewman

Strange. U can order gibson pots here in germany at www.thomann.de. Their

homepage says the stock pots are 300k/linear for volume and 500k/log for tone.